German reunification

German reunification (German: Deutsche Wiedervereinigung) was the process in 1990 in which the German Democratic Republic (GDR; German: Deutsche Demokratische Republik, DDR) became part of the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG; German: Bundesrepublik Deutschland, BRD) to form the reunited nation of Germany. The end of the unification process is officially referred to as German unity (Deutsche Einheit), celebrated each year on 3 October as German Unity Day (Tag der deutschen Einheit). East and West Berlin were reunited into a single city and again became the capital of united Germany.