Marche (/ˈmɑːrkeɪ/ MAR-kay, Italian: [ˈmarke]) is one of the twenty regions of Italy. In English, the region is sometimes referred to as The Marches (/ˈmɑːrtʃɪz/ MAR-chiz). The region is located in the central area of the country, bordered by Emilia-Romagna and the republic of San Marino to the north, Tuscany to the west, Umbria to the southwest, Abruzzo and Lazio to the south and the Adriatic Sea to the east. Except for river valleys and the often very narrow coastal strip, the land is hilly.