Maritime republics

The maritime republics (Italian: repubbliche marinare), also called merchant republics (Italian: repubbliche mercantili), of the Mediterranean Basin were thalassocratic city-states in Italy and Dalmatia during the Middle Ages. Most know them as Venice, Genoa, Pisa and Amalfi; less known, are Ragusa (now Dubrovnik), Gaeta, Ancona, and the little Republic of Noli.