Morelos (Spanish pronunciation: [moˈɾelos]), officially the Free and Sovereign State of Morelos (Spanish: Estado Libre y Soberano de Morelos), is one of the 32 states which comprise the Federal Entities of Mexico. It is divided into 36 municipalities and its capital city is Cuernavaca. Morelos is a landlocked state located in South Central Mexico. It is bordered by Mexico City to the north, and by the states of México to the northeast and northwest, Puebla to the east and Guerrero to the southwest.