State of Mexico

The State of Mexico (Spanish: Estado de México; pronounced [esˈtaðo ðe ˈmexiko]), officially only Mexico (Spanish: México), is one of the 32 federal entities of the United Mexican States. Commonly known as Edomex (from Estado de México) to distinguish it from the name of the whole country, it is the most populous, as well as the most densely populated, state in the country. The demonym used to refer to people and things from the state is mexiquense, distinct from mexicano (‘Mexican’), which describes the people or things from the country as a whole.